Daughtry

Browse Reviews!

 
Band Summary

Average User Rating 7.38
Total Reviews 6
Last Reviewed August 20th, 2006
 
All Concert Photos (click to enlarge)


All User Reviews
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
Save your Money....
Venue/Date: Lake Charles Civic Center (Lake Charles, LA)
Concert Date:  
February 19th, 2012
Reviewer: cavsafety

      Venue Parking  
      Venue Security  
      Opening Band  
      Opening Song  
      Set List  
      Band Connection  
      Band Energy/Intensity/Showmanship  
      ConcertGoer Energy/Intensity  
      Sound Quality  
      Set and Lighting Design (SLD)  
      The Finish/Encore  
1.96
The bottom-line...it was not worth the time and money. My wife and I were anxiously anticipating Chris's performance. We were tracking the day and time we could purchase tickets as members of his fan club. We made ALL the logistical arrangements, sitter, dinner out, new outfits, wife's hair nails etc...We could not wait. We arrived an hour before the show's planned start, paid for valet parking, grabbed a beer and headed in to find our floor seats. There was no opening band . We were treated to a variety music played over their speakers as we waited. We were able to send texts for everyone to read, kinda cool but got old after the first 5 minutes. The show started twenty minutes late. As a result, we got to know the people seated around us. They were wondering why the stage/set was so lackluster. The lights finally dimmed as the band walked on stage. Robin Diaz, the drummer, hit the base drum and it was way overpowered. It was cool for the first song as we could feel the changing pressures from each smack vibrate us to the core. However, the thuds overpowered everything. The base and lead guitars volumes were turned so far up that they became distorted and barely audible. We could not understand the words Chris was singing due to distortion. We knew the words to some of his older stuff. The new songs had us lost. Chris did seem to sing with intensity and did not hold back on his voice. If we concentrated on the screens projecting we could almost read lips...very poor audio set up. Again, we had good seats on the floor, pretty close to the mixing board guys. Chris failed to interact with the crowd at all. He shouted Lake Charles make some noise a few times, asked us to buy the new album, and then thanked us at the end for coming out. Oh, and he introduced his band while they were performing...still could not make out their names because of the poor acoustic set-up. Seriously, that was about it. We paid $60 x 2 face value plus the typical tickemaster fees, $20 for parking, $20 sitter, $20 beer, $40 dinner, $20 gas...May not be a lot for some, but for us it is a large part of our budget. So, $240 bucks for a lack-luster concert, at best. I hope that this may help someone. By the way, we went to his concert last year in Lafayette LA. He put on a great show there and definitely interacted with the audience...in fact, that is why we decided to go this year. What a huge disappointment. Sincerely, Greg G.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
Bands were great, too noisy
Venue/Date: Littlejohn Coliseum (Clemson, SC)
Concert Date:  
June 8th, 2010
Reviewer: YandRdrunk

      Venue Parking  
      Venue Security  
      Opening Band  
      Opening Song  
      Set List  
      Band Connection  
      Band Energy/Intensity/Showmanship  
      ConcertGoer Energy/Intensity  
      Sound Quality  
      Set and Lighting Design (SLD)  
      The Finish/Encore  
7.31
Cavo and Lifehouse opened the show with great performances. Daughtry brought it with alot of my favorite songs and connected well with the fans. What ruined the concert was the loud music. It drowned out the singing and I had a headache for a day and a half. The concert would've been a blast except for that. Best part: Lifehouse

Was this review helpful to you?      

 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
Daughtry- Deleware State Fair
Venue/Date: Delaware State Fair (Harrington, DE)
Concert Date:  
July 23rd, 2008
Reviewer: rachelxlovesyou

      Venue Parking  
      Venue Security  
      Opening Band  
      Opening Song  
      Set List  
      Band Connection  
      Band Energy/Intensity/Showmanship  
      ConcertGoer Energy/Intensity  
      Sound Quality  
      Set and Lighting Design (SLD)  
      The Finish/Encore  
8.12
Band: Daughtry Where: Delaware State Fair When: July 2008 With Who: Kayla, Erin, Aunt Denise, Amber, and her mother Summary: We got box seats that had a pretty good view. I bought a key chain that says Daughtry on it. During the concerts girls behind us scream “I love you chris” and he said “I love you too”. It was funny that he heard cause we were far away. Overall the concert was good.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Daughtry Okay at this show
Venue/Date: Ohio State Fair (Columbus, OH)
Concert Date:  
August 1st, 2007
Reviewer: aceshooter

      Venue Parking  
      Venue Security  
      Opening Band  
      Opening Song  
      Set List  
      Band Connection  
      Band Energy/Intensity/Showmanship  
      ConcertGoer Energy/Intensity  
      Sound Quality  
      Set and Lighting Design (SLD)  
      The Finish/Encore  
9.00

Rocker plays it safe at state fair

Thursday, August 2, 2007 3:54 AM
By Margaret Quamme
FOR THE DISPATCH

Chris Daughtry stood out on American Idol because his hard-rocking sound contrasted so strongly with the more string-heavy sounds of the other contestants. But he's playing in a different field now, and it's going to be harder for him to differentiate himself.

At last night's fast-moving concert at the Celeste Center at the Ohio State Fair, Daughtry pleased a large crowd by sticking with the familiar: He has released one, self-titled album, and he played the songs from it without venturing into new territory.

Daughtry looks more than adequately intimidating: He repeatedly rubbed his hands over his shaved head; a black tank top and low-rider jeans showed off his tattoos and well-developed muscles.

And in concert, the songs have a rougher edge than on the slickly produced album. He was backed by a lively, competent rock band, and occasionally picked up a guitar himself, though only as accompaniment to his singing.

Those songs, most written or co-written by Daughtry, don't vary wildly: They're more sentimental than their driving beats would suggest, and several have a mopey side that allows for Idol-style posing and solemn, upward-cast eyes. Without the rock trimmings, songs like Gone or Daughtry's hit Home would fit easily in a country format.
Read rest of Review Here URL
Click here to read rest of the review

Was this review helpful to you?      

 
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Daughtry is no reject
Venue/Date: Verizon Wireless Music Ctr. (Noblesville, IN)
Concert Date:  
July 20th, 2007
Reviewer: aceshooter

      Venue Parking  
      Venue Security  
      Opening Band  
      Opening Song  
      Set List  
      Band Connection  
      Band Energy/Intensity/Showmanship  
      ConcertGoer Energy/Intensity  
      Sound Quality  
      Set and Lighting Design (SLD)  
      The Finish/Encore  
9.00
Daughtry, Staind and Nickelback satisfy
By David Lindquist

Friday night at Verizon Wireless Music Center began with a mystery tied to the order of appearance of bands Daughtry and Staind.

It's true that the two-act undercard for the Nickelback concert wasn't advertised to unfold in a particular way.

But conventional wisdom might dictate the band that's issued a No. 1 album and a pair of Top 5 singles in the past year -- Daughtry -- would play after a band that's on a slow, dignified career decline (Staind).

While officials at the Noblesville amphitheater initially expected Staind to warm up for Daughtry, they reported the day-of-show switch as something the tour did at its own discretion.

Friday-afternoon traffic became an X factor in the program, as I-69 and at least one supposed "shortcut" to the venue were backed up for miles.

After singing his first number at 7:40 p.m., Daughtry vocalist Chris Daughtry told the nearly packed house that he and his bandmates had just arrived at Verizon.
What about audience members delayed on roads until 8:20 p.m. or later? They missed Daughtry and then caught a professional performance by Staind, one filled with thick, melancholy mainstream metal that made the Boston-based quartet popular around the turn of the century.

Regarding Daughtry's showing, it was funny to see the band's guitar technician work from a road case labeled "The All-American Rejects." Regardless of whether the emo-pop band from Oklahoma ever owned the case, few people have gone farther after being rejected from "American Idol" than former contestant Chris Daughtry.
Some of his singing on Friday clanged "pitchy" in the world of Randy Jackson, but Daughtry's voice is heroic in the context of derivative hard rock.
The North Carolina native wore distressed blue jeans, an olive-green sleeveless T-shirt, boots and a robust wallet chain.
Read rest of Review Here URL
Click here to read rest of the review

Was this review helpful to you?      


Next >   Last >|